HI ORION! GLAD YOU ARE BACK AGAIN!

2 12 2011

 I have been fascinated with Astronomy for a long time.  My Dad  loved the stars, planets, galaxies, nebulas, comets, etc. and possessed an extensive knowledge of the universe.  I received my love of the these things directly from him!  So many times we would go out under the starry sky and he would point out constellations and planets. On extremely clear, cool nights in Michigan, we could see the myriads of stars that comprised the Milky Way Galaxy, of which the Earth is a miniscule part!  As time went on,  I continued to take an interest in Astronomy and when I was a teacher, it was my favorite topic when I taught Science to my fifth grade students. I also got to lead many “star gazes” at the camp where I was a counselor while in college.  Today, I have the privilege of passing along information about these things to my grandchildren when we are together, under the same starry skies where my Dad taught me!  Hopefully they will pass this knowledge someday to their children?

What about now? I am amazed at what the Bible has to say about God and His relationship to His stars, planets and entire universe.  Psalm 147:4(The Message), says: “He counts the stars and calls each one by name”!  Can you wrap your mind around that?  Astronomers have said there are billions of stars in an untold number of galaxies just that we know of !!  This verse says God calls them all by their name!!  Many times I have trouble remembering the name of someone I met yesterday!  This is amazing, isn’t it?

If that isn’t enough, listen to these verses.  When Job was feeling sorry for himself, God asked him the following questions found in Job 38:31-33 (The Message).  “Can you catch the eye of the beautiful Pleiades sisters, or distract Orion from his hunt? Can you get Venus to look your way, or get the Great Bear and her cubs to come out and play? Do you know the first thing about the sky’s constellations and how they affect things on Earth”?  These words of God show that He created, named and controls them–not Job, or anyone else! These names were given ions ago and have lasted until today! So, welcome back to Florida, Orion, for the Winter season! Your creator has kept you in your prescribed place, as well as your “many”celestial friends, even though I have not seen you for quite awhile!

Bob Morgan, Boca Raton, Florida

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

