WHAT A NIGHT!

24 12 2011

I have always thought that if I could travel back in a time machine, the night I would want to live would be the night Jesus was born. What was it like, how would I have reacted? Look at all I would have experienced on that starry night as told in the Gospel of Luke 2:8-18.

Would I have been awake or sleeping? Whatever my state, I would have met an angel with brilliant light like I had never seen. Seeing my fear factor, the Angel of the Lord would say to me and my friends, “Fear not, because I bring you good news for you and all people. Unto you is born this day in the City of David, a Saviour which is Christ the Lord. You will be able to know the baby because He will be wrapped in pieces of cloth, lying in a manger.” As if  seeing one angel wasn’t enough, a multitude of them appeared saying, “Glory to God in the Highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.” Could my eyes and ears believe what I was seeing and hearing? I don’t think so! I would have been in complete awe, probably still shaking from both fear and amazement!

Then, I and the shepherds, after trying to realize what had just happened, formed a huddle and asked, “What are we going to do?” We would agree to go quickly to find the baby that we were so amazingly told about. So we wasted no time and left right away. When I arrived at the birthplace of the baby, what would my thoughts have been? I am certain that I would have sensed the Glory of God in the stable. What would I have said or done? I do not know, I could only imagine. However, I would have been so impressed with what happened that I could not keep silent. I had to tell anyone who would listen about what I had witnessed.

Fast forward until today. I can dream about the real event, but now I must answer the question. How has the birth of Jesus affected my life? Is it just a story I read once a year or like the shepherds, do I tell about this event that has changed the course of history? It has changed my life!

How about you?

Bob Morgan, Boca Raton, Florida

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

